Royal Courts of Justice

The Royal Courts of Justice houses an administrative group which is divided into a number of divisions each of which has its own courts. The Royal Court of Justice building accommodates both the Court of Appeal and the High Court.

The Court of Appeal consists of two divisions:

The High Court deals with higher level civil disputes. There are three divisions of the High Court:

Other areas of the High Court include:

The Administrative Court which is one of the most varied in terms of what it covers. The types of cases it deals with are:

  • Judicial Reviews
  • Statutory appeals and applications
  • Applications for Habeas Corpus
  • Applications under the Drug Trafficking Act 1994 and the Criminal Justice Act 1988

In addition to the Court of Appeal and the High Court the Royal Courts of Justice Group is responsible for:

HM Courts & Tribunals Service


Get email alerts
Find a form
Find a court form