Court of Appeal

The Court of Appeal, which sits in London at the Royal Courts of Justice, consists of two divisions:

The Civil Division, which hears appeals from:

  • The three divisions of the High Court (Chancery, Queen's Bench and Family Division)
  • From the County Courts across England and Wales,
  • From certain Tribunals such as the Employment Appeal Tribunal, the Immigration Appeal Tribunal, the Lands Tribunal and the Social Security Commissioners.

The Criminal Division, which hears appeals from the Crown Court.

The Court of Appeal is the highest court within the Senior Courts, which also includes the High Court and Crown Court.

The Court of Appeal normally sits in up to 12 courts in the Royal Courts of Justice.

HM Courts & Tribunals Service


Get email alerts
Find a form
Find a court form